BHS Alumni Foundation March Meeting

Bingham High Alumni Foundation Meeting

March 13, 2017 


Members in Attendance:  Scott Crump, Conducting,

Jill Hightower, John Berg, Randy Tyson, Marilyn Richards, Deanne Curtis, Sherm Margetts, David Gourley, Chris Richards-Kong.

Members Excused:  Mike Anderson

Minutes taken by Deanne Curtis


Thank you Sherm Margetts for the treats.

Minutes of January meeting were read and a motion made by Randy Tyson and seconded by Marilyn Richards that the minutes be approved.


The meeting date for April will need to be changed due to spring recess.  It was agreed that the meeting will be held on April 24, 2017 at 3:15 pm in the Alumni Room.  Those that could stay and help read scholarships are encouraged to do so.


Marilyn is finishing up the newsletter and it will be out soon. The next newsletter will be spring/summer.


Isabell Scroggin can no longer write and mail the Thank You cards to the donors of monies for the foundation.  Jill Hightower will take that responsibility. Isabell will still help with “We will always remember”, with help from foundation members.  We appreciate all the work Isabell has given the foundation.


Scholarship night will be May 16, 2017, at 6:30 pm.  The foundation will meet that night at 5:30 in the Alumni Room for the May meeting.  Then set up for scholarship night.

Thank you again for Sherm Margetts and his generous donation in helping keep two scholarships at the $1500.00 mark for the next two years.  Ten scholarships will be given this year.


Pay Dirt nominees are due by July 4.  If you have anyone in mind please email Lynn DeMill.


Our Facebook page is up and running and we have had 4066 likes!  News about the Championships for basketball and Academic Decathlon have been liked by over 2900 friends.  Besides the 2 championships we want to congratulate the Debate team for taking 2nd at State.


 Bingham High is in a contest for the America’s school with the most spirit.  The winning school will receive $25,000.00.  As of March 13 they were in 1st place.  The contest ends March 15.  You may vote once every day by going to Varsity


John Berg reported on the meeting of B forever held in January.  John said that there are many unanswered questions about this project that must be answered before it can be an all systems go.  Will a successful effort be met with a beautiful, well-lit permanent B on the mountain side or will it be: There use to be a B here before the mine shut down and all of these homes were built?   It is the only remnant of the old Bingham High Schools and the town of Bingham. At this juncture Kennecott/Rio Tinto is on board to help make this project successful. The committee is set to work on this project in three stages:  lighting, making the B permanent, and long term maintenance.  The committee will meet on March 15.  A meeting was not held in February due to the surgery of John Berg.  We are all happy that he is recovering and will be able to continue his duties as chairman for this huge undertaking.


Yearbooks are still being scanned and we have begun to scan the Bingham newspapers from past years.  These will eventually be available to view on the BHS Alumni website.


Class reunions for the class of 1977, 1987 and 1997 will be held this year.  The 1977 reunion will be held at the high school August 26, 2017, Mary Zervos Yannias is the contact information is also on the fb under Bingham High School 40 year reunion.  The Class of 1997 reunion will be held on June 10, 2017 from 6:00 to 9:00 pm at Bingham High School.  Contact Jessica Provost Blayden, Jason Bennion or see the Bingham Class of ’97 Facebook page.  No information on the Class of 1987 is available at this time.  The class of 1972 is considering holding a 45 year class reunion more information will be forth coming.

A motion was made by Marilyn Richards and seconded by Sherm Margetts to invite Connie Richards Bell to join the Alumni Foundation Board.  The board voted unanimously to approve the nomination.



We Will Always Remember

Joyce Hansen Crump                      1946

JoAnn Spera Adams                        1955

Barbara Rasmussen Burns           1955

Kari Dee Nicoletti Lamb                1964

Ray Thacker                                     1965



The meeting adjourned at 4:40 pm. 

The next meeting will be held on Monday April 24, 2017 at 3:15 pm in the Alumni Room.